2009 – A Year of Great Music Part IV (#40-31)

Posted: December 30, 2009 in Music Playlists, The Music Inklings
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

As we get closer to the Top 10 of the countdown, I would like to remind you that Part IV marks the time where the songs are now ranked accordingly. By this, I mean that the songs are now in order unlike in Parts I – III where I just put the songs without much thought. Comments will really be appreciated. These comments are helpful in my desire to improve my blogging skills. Thank you so much!
#40 Death of Auto-Tune – Jay-Z
From: The Blueprint 3
Jay-Z enters with his first song in this countdown through Death of Auto-Tune. Sampling Steam’s Na Na Hey Kiss Him Goodbye, the song shines through Jay-Z message against the abuse of the Auto-Tune technology. I do think that this is the first Jay-Z song that I really liked. His verses have really evolved and this song clearly shows that.
#39 Panic Switch – Silversun Pickups
From: Swoon
The first song by an independent artist to become #1 on Billboard’s Alternative Songs chart in 11 years, Panic Switch features a very heavy intro. Brian Aubert’s screaming still sounds great. The guitars in this sound really just sound perfect. And I know that this song is familiar to those who play the video game Rock Band.
#38 My Life Would Suck Without You – Kelly Clarkson
From: All I Ever Wanted
One of the best examples of a Pop-Rock song comes at number 38 with My Life Would Suck Without You. Kelly Clarkson goes back to playing edgy songs with this one. It absolutely is a very great record without the fruitiness that has been somewhat commonplace for Pop songs nowadays.
#37 Don’t Stop Believing – Glee Cast
From: Glee: The Music, Volume 1
Never in the world would I include Arnel Pineda’s Don’t Stop Believing in this countdown. NEVER. I just found his stint with Journey to be disappointing. Anyway, I think that this is the song that really pushed Glee into its success. Awesome cover and the arrangement as well is simply brilliant.
#36 Sweet Dreams – Beyonce
From: I Am . . . Sasha Fierce
One of the three songs that I loved in Mrs. Jay-Z’s newest album is Sweet Dreams. A very strong bassline really worked to perfection. Beyonce’s vocals are magic. It raises then lowers perfectly. Sweet Dreams is really one great pop record. The music video is also a visual treat.
#35 You And I – Medina
From: Velkommen til Medina (Danish for Welcome to Medina)
When I saw this single being played on Channel V, I instantly got hooked. A very danceable song and the constant repetitions of the phrase “You and I” makes it very interesting. Certainly, the song will be a great addition to all your playlists though it did not receive lots of mainstream exposure that it certainly deserves.
#34 3 – Britney Spears
From: The Singles Collection
Another Max Martin-produced track for Britney Spears has done immense wonders. The lyrics may be filled with innuendos but it is a surefire dance hit. If Britney continues to do more uptempo songs like this, I would be very happy to listen. She really sounds better in this type of songs in my opinion.
#33 Make Her Say – Kid Cudi feat. Kanye West and Common
From: Man On The Moon: The End of Day
Kid Cudi just continues to be spectacular. Alongisde Day ‘n’ NiteMake Her Say is one of the few impressive songs in Cudi’s Man On The Moon album. Sampling Lady GaGa’s acoustic version of Poker Face included in The Cherrytree Sessions EPMake Her Say just proves that there are still respectable hiphop songs left for people to listen to. It’s all about digging deep into those songs people.
#32 You Belong With Me – Taylor Swift
From: Fearless
What a year it has been for Ms. Swift. After that controversial moment with Kanye West, Swift continued to win various awards, most notably those FIVE awards that she got from the American Music Awards. You Belong With Me is not your typical country song. It actually sounds more pop until you notice the sound that those guitars make which can only be heard in country songs. Still, those people who don’t love the Country genre should try this one.
#31 For Your Entertainment – Adam Lambert
From: For Your Entertainment
The runner-up to Kris Allen in American Idol, Adam Lambert (who was my favorite alongside Ms. Iraheta), finally came out with his debut album, For Your Entertainment this year. The debut single, For Your Entertainment, is one of the two tracks that I am currently liking big time so far. It sounds groovy and the hook is just mesmerizing. Despite that performance he had during the American Music Awards, I will still be a fan of Mr. Lambert.

Leave a comment